The 7 dog parks we hold within 25 km of Kaikōura, each with what the council actually says about the fence. Not one of them carries a published fencing statement, which is the state of the record rather than a claim that none are fenced.
Most of these have no fencing statement at all. That is the honest state of the record, not a gap we have papered over: councils publish where dogs may go off the lead far more often than they publish whether the place is enclosed. Where a page says nothing, we say nothing, and you should walk in on the lead and look.
Fencing not stated (7)
We hold no fencing statement at all for these, so treat them as open ground. Not stated is not the same as not fenced, and we are not going to guess which one it is.
Churchill Park
CanterburyFencing not stated by the council
Town park, designated Dog Exercise Area where dogs may be exercised at large, but dogs are prohibited within 10 metres of the play…
Animals Bylaw 2025 s3.4(1)(g): "Dogs may be exercised at large in the following areas ... g) Churchill Park (Dogs are prohibited within…
Not that we can show you. None of the 7 dog parks we hold near Kaikōura carry a published fencing statement, so we are not going to imply one is enclosed. Not stated is not the same as not fenced, and the sign at the gate is the only thing that settles it.
Where this comes from. Fencing is read off each council’s own dog park pages and dog control policies, with additional locations from OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL). Last refreshed 2026-09-07. Nobody has reviewed or endorsed these pages: we read what is published and cite it. The sign at the gate carries the final word, and a council can change a rule the week after we read it. If we have something wrong, tell us and we will recheck it.Full attribution