The 15 dog parks we hold within 25 km of Mosgiel, each with what the council actually says about the fence. None carry a council statement that the whole area is fenced, though 2 say something about a fence either way.
Most of these have no fencing statement at all. That is the honest state of the record, not a gap we have papered over: councils publish where dogs may go off the lead far more often than they publish whether the place is enclosed. Where a page says nothing, we say nothing, and you should walk in on the lead and look.
Part fenced (2)
The council describes a fence around part of the area, not around all of it. The quote below is what it actually says, and where the fenced part starts and stops is the bit to read on the sign at the gate.
Cemetery Road Dog Exercise Area
OtagoPartly fenced
Designated dog exercise area with agility equipment, plus a separate fenced small-breed dog area for dogs no more than eight kilograms…
Dog Control Policy 2024, Section 7: "These are fenced with agility equipment. Dogs must be under control but can be off leash in these…
We hold no fencing statement at all for these, so treat them as open ground. Not stated is not the same as not fenced, and we are not going to guess which one it is.
Beach south of Brighton Domain to Taieri Mouth
OtagoFencing not stated by the council
Long off-leash beach stretch. Note Brighton Beach itself (within the bay from the Big Rock to opposite 909 Brighton Road, including…
Dog Control Policy 2024, Schedule C, "Beach areas": "Beach south of Brighton Domain to Taieri Mouth". Council web page prohibited areas…
Not one we can confirm. None of the 15 dog parks we hold near Mosgiel carry a council statement that the whole area is fenced. 2 are described as part fenced, or have a fence line mapped with nothing confirming it encloses the dog area. Walk in on the lead and look before you unclip.
Where this comes from. Fencing is read off each council’s own dog park pages and dog control policies, with additional locations from OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL). Last refreshed 2026-09-07. Nobody has reviewed or endorsed these pages: we read what is published and cite it. The sign at the gate carries the final word, and a council can change a rule the week after we read it. If we have something wrong, tell us and we will recheck it.Full attribution