The 11 dog parks we hold within 25 km of Upper Hutt, each with what the council actually says about the fence. 2 sit on a council page that classes the area as fenced, and 2 carry a fencing statement of some kind.
Most of these have no fencing statement at all. That is the honest state of the record, not a gap we have papered over: councils publish where dogs may go off the lead far more often than they publish whether the place is enclosed. Where a page says nothing, we say nothing, and you should walk in on the lead and look.
Fenced, in the council’s own words (2)
Each of these sits on a council page that classes the area as fenced, quoted below with a link to the page the wording came from. A gate can still be propped open and a fence can still have a gap in it, so walk in on the lead and look before you unclip.
Mazengarb Dog Park
WellingtonFully fenced
Two separate areas – one for high-energy dogs, one for low-energy dogs; secure fencing; double-gated entry area; open space for exercise and play; drinking water for dogs; dog waste bag dispensers…
Fetched the governing council's own page (Kāpiti Coast District Council, kapiticoast.govt.nz) as raw HTML, not via a summarizer, and stripped tags to read the literal text. The "Mazengarb…
About 8000 square metres of fenced ground at Plimmerton Domain, split into three zones: a high energy zone (the largest, with pathways and planting to keep dogs moving), a low energy zone for smaller or steadier dogs who would be overwhelmed next door, and a limited zone one family at a time can book for twenty minutes when a dog or an owner needs the space to themselves. Paths, gates, drinking water for dogs and humans, and a dog shower for the muddy months. Daytime hours only, and dogs go back on the lead outside the zones. Parking at 5 Ulric Street.
Porirua City Council's page for the Plimmerton Domain Dog Recreation Area, verbatim: "Hounds and their humans love this one-of-a-kind fenced park with its three separate zones that give doggos of all sizes, speeds and temperaments a safe place to play and have fun in the sun." The same page: "We worked with local dog experts and community members to design a new fenced dog recreation area, now open for dogs and their owners to enjoy at Plimmerton Domain. The area is about 8000sqm and is designed for dogs of all shapes and speeds, with paths, gates, drinking water (for dogs and humans), and even a dog shower should dogs get muddy in the wetter months. The area is for use during daytime hours only." On the fence: the council says "The fenced area is split into three zones: high energy, low energy, and a limited zone for owners and/or dogs that need a separate area", and its own questions and answers ask "When was the fenced area complete and ready to use?", answering "The fenced area was completed as expected in March 2020". One fence around the whole area, subdivided into zones, in the council's own words, so this is recorded as fully fenced. The council also asks that dogs are kept on a lead outside the zones. Reported by Inge and Pip (Aug 2026), who confirmed the three zones and the dog shower on the ground and noted the parking at 5 Ulric Street.
We hold no fencing statement at all for these, so treat them as open ground. Not stated is not the same as not fenced, and we are not going to guess which one it is.
Ascot Park Dog Exercise Area
WellingtonFencing not stated by the council
The record carries no wording about this park.
Source: OpenStreetMap contributors
Birchville Park
WellingtonFencing not stated by the council
Neighbourhood park with playground, picnic space and open grass; vehicle and pedestrian access off Emerald Hill Drive. One of only two…
Upper Hutt City Council, 'Animals in parks and reserves' > 'Dog exercise areas': "Dogs may be exercised off leash or harness, but under…
Yes. 2 of the 11 dog parks we hold near Upper Hutt sit on a council page that classes the area as fenced: Mazengarb Dog Park, Plimmerton Domain Dog Recreation Area. Each one is quoted on this page with a link to the council page the wording came from.
Where this comes from. Fencing is read off each council’s own dog park pages and dog control policies, with additional locations from OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL). Last refreshed 2026-09-07. Nobody has reviewed or endorsed these pages: we read what is published and cite it. The sign at the gate carries the final word, and a council can change a rule the week after we read it. If we have something wrong, tell us and we will recheck it.Full attribution